| Home | Our Services | Resource Links | General Links | Contact Us |

  1. Feelin' Good (S. Gonzalez III) (4:32)
  2. Nobody's Husband (Cartwright) (3:11)
  3. Boplicity (Miles Davis) (3:03)
  4. Astrud (Basia) (4:35)
  5. Blues In The Pockets (Stafford James) (4:20)
  6. No Love (Cartwright) (6:08)
  7. Medley: Mean To Me (Alhert & Turk)
    I've Got It Bad (Ellington) (4:58)
  8. Dreamin' (Cartwright) (4:33)
  9. Ms. Celie's Blues (Q.Jones/L.Ritchie) (2:52)
  10. Loneliblue (Cartwright) (6:47)
  11. 'Round Midnight (T. Monk) (3:11)

Joan Cartwright is an explosive jazz and blues singer, composer and lecturer. She's performed in the U.S. for 25 years and in Europe since 1990. Joan sings her own songs and those of Ellington, Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Cole Porter, Gershwin, Jobim and the standard composers. She is an extraordinary performer who can enchant any audience anywhere!

Her debut CD, "Feelin' Good" features Giovanni Mazzarino (p), Nello Toscano (b), Mimmo Cafiero (d) and Oracio Maugeri (sax). The CD was first released in 1995, on Tireno Records in Milan, then released in the U.S. on Joan's label, I AM Records in 1998.

Visit her websites:  Jazzquest!


  1. Windstorm
  2. Just Thinking of You
  3. Sister, Brother, Sister
  4. Rising Up
  5. Live Your Fantasy
  6. Ancestral Spirits
  7. Angelita
  8. Right On Time



  1. Jean Pierre

  2. On Green Dolphin Street

  3. Let It Flow For Dr. J

  4. Stand By Me

  5. My Funny Valentine

  6. Memphis Underground

  7. Jesus Keep Me Near The Cross

  8. Summertime


Suzanne Brooks

"Listening To The Radio"

"Great Women of Jazz: A Tribute".

Contact:: Suzanne Brooks, CEO
International Association for Women of Color Day
Phone: (916) 483-9804 Email: iawocday@aol.com


The Jazz Generation

Suzanne Brooks/The Jazz Generation Description/Bio:
The Jazz Generation showcases a fine jazz singer and band leader, Suzanne Brooks, who gives new meaning to familiar lyrics and turns old favorites into fresh, exciting musical experiences. Her classy brand of jazz bridges the gaps between generations with a smooth, mature and trained voice that delivers sultry, sophisticated, and dynamic jazz, passionate, moving Gospel and a truly vast repertoire of familiar and less well known standards, jazz tunes, R&B, pop and a little Country in her own style and arrangements.   Brooks is a songwriter, writer of poems, stories, essays and show scripts, as well as a hula dancer. She sings in Spanish, French and Hawaiian. Originally from Philadelphia, PA, she now lives in Sacramento, recording on her own label, Women of Color Day.   In 2003 Brooks formed her band, The Jazz Generation--a multi-ethnic, multi-generational group of seasoned professionals. The Jazz Generation musicians are a superb talented, trained, sight-reading group including Suzanne Brooks, vocals/songwriter/band leader; Chris Lee, keyboard; Jim Wendt, keyboard and bass; Dave Peters, drums; Graham Smith sax; and Cliff Ford, vocals. The atmosphere of The Jazz Generation is a positive thing to experience, always a diversified group that swings, is entertaining and wonderful to observe.   The 8 CDs of Suzanne Brooks/The Jazz Generation on sale are: “Great Women of Jazz: A Tribute” (based on the show by Suzanne Brooks) and “Listening To The Radio (original single, words & music by Brooks about 98 year old Sacramentan Jack Hall);. “Even Sad Memories Are Sweet;” “Miles to Go Before I Sleep;” “Lasting Impression" (about her date with Miles Davis), and “Aurora,” written with pianist Reggie Graham; “The Strength To Go On” and "Candombe pa' la Lia" written with Sergio Ortuño, founder of the Candombe Drum School in Montevideo, Urugyay.

Sales and samples are available online: http://www.cdbaby.com/Search/c3V6YW5uZSBicm9va3M%3d/0 Two new DVDs/CDs will be released in May, 2011 from the November 13, 2010 show, "Time After Time."    New projects are underway, with many more of Brooks's originals, including more exciting collaborations with Sergio Ortuno,  Gylchris Sprauve, exciting vocalist from St. Thomas, VI and Puerto Rico, and guitarist Eddie Encarnacion from Washington, DC. Brooks performs in and is the playwright, director and producer of the shows "Great Women of Jazz, 1890-1990" and I Believe I Can Fly: Memories of Stories and Music" in 2010 which presented 112 year old Mother Ruby Muhammad's performance debut on March 7, 2010 as a highlight of the annual Sacramento Women of Color Day/Diversity Event in Sacramento, CA. Mother Ruby was born in 1897. Her performance was supported/accompanied by Brooks/The Jazz Generation with jazz, gosple and R&B from Mother Ruby's long life. Publicity of the event, which also honored outstanding women of color and others who support diversity, reached more than 10 million throughout California, across the nation and in several other countries. 2010 honorees included Karen Bass, California Assembly Speaker; Roxana Borrego, Director, Sacramento Cultural Center; Aurora Grajeda, San Francisco Bay Area Journalist; Britta Guererro, Director, Sacramento Native American Health Center; Theresa Pulido, West Sacramento Grandmother; Deloris Ashley; Oprah Winfrey, actress/talk show host; and Rev. Ashiya Odeye, Executive Director, Sacramento Justice Reform Coalition.   Information on the upcoming 2011 event is below in a current press release: Contact:: Suzanne Brooks, CEO
International Association for Women of Color Day
Phone: (916) 483-9804 Email: iawocday@aol.com

More Info